top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedoodlesandcolors

My art journey

Here's a post to share with you on how I got to where I am now.


As oblivious and deeply humbled I am of where I stand in the creative industry here, I guess I am glad to know that I am slowly giving a positive impact to people through this passion I have with art.


I am going to be as honest and blunt as possible with this post. It's a norm for us humans to have our ups and downs and with art, it gives me hope and it helps me go through my darkest moments, how? It distract me away from my own bad thoughts and it pulls me away from it with making me be more mindful of whats going around me - doodle!


I doodle what I see, hear, feel and think - in those exact sequence.


Now the title of this post is 'my art journey' so let's take a few (year) steps back to how it all started.


I've this passion in art ever since I was in college (I was 18, I'm 30 now - oh wow!)


Right after college, with the lack of support of my passion, I have decided to work for an oil and gas company to support my parents and thought, that's alright, I can juggle that - work full time and do art on the side. Did that happen? Not quite. Although, I did doodle every now and then but never really did have that time to actually doodle all the time until this fax paper (scroll) I found at work. Ever since then (2014) I've been continuously doodling on it every time I've had the time to, which was every after work


First few meters of the doodles on the fax paper

Along the way, people at work has seen me doodling at meetings, breaks, literally whereber (Oh, there goes my pinoy typo) anyways... wherever, whenever and whatever things I can doodle on until I got asked to doodle on their items which was a headphone and a motorcycle helmet of my colleague's


I have always been posting my art since day one. Every single thing that I've been doodling, I've basically just posted it up.


Until one time, one of my art teacher back in college suggested me to join this art festival which was going on in Labuan and to be honest, I went should I? should I not? An event like this is not my thing but I went for it - brought my scroll and the rest of my drawings with me and that's how it all started. that's where my calling started off from.


Look at this nerd

Yes, the scroll of doodles



After a while, I had received a lot more opportunities and offers for exhibitions, projects as well as classes and it was quite overwhelming. I thought to myself, art has always made me happy and aspiring people to pursue their talent makes me feel good for them - then there's work.


Work was taking up my whole time on most of my days of the week and of course not many people would understand the art of creating and drawing requires time. I am all about not blaming the "not having enough time" thing and that it's more so about ones priorities.


When I was working, of course, work was my priority then art and with that, I was not able to create more than I want to so I decided to resign. Yep, resigned from a very good, comfortable (pay) to do art - majority think that is a very bold or even crazy decision, some even asked and said, "what are you going to do now?, you need to have money to live" I understand that but my take on money is that it should not be the only reason for us humans to feel rich or sustain ourselves.


In my case, I honestly don't have the money that I've always had but I feel quite rich because, I have people who cares, supports and love me for me and this passion I have.


I believe that money will come along the way If people keep doing things not only for the wealth and importance of themselves but which benefits and helps others people too


Thus, resigning from work that I am no longer have motivation for anymore, here I am doing my endless of passion projects


My take on this is not for you to quit your day job, but to find what inspires you and your passion. This would help you go through things in a positive light



7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page